CS371 Summer 2021: Blog 4

Adithya Arunganesh
2 min readJun 28, 2021

--

  • What did you do this past week?

This past week, I worked on two projects from my summer classes. One of those projects was the Netflix project for this class which my partner and I were able to get done pretty quickly once we figured out how to manage input into our software. The other project was for Software Engineering where I needed to create a preliminary design for an API to be implemented on our website.

  • What’s in your way?

Lack of time is mainly in my way. With two pretty intensive group projects to manage, it can be hard to find time to work on both simultaneously.

  • What will you do next week?

Next week, I will be better at time management. Communicating with my group members on availability so that there would be no time conflicts when working on projects.

  • If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #: Twice as Good?

After reading the paper, I agree with the points made. Just from personal experience, I can see that there is an apparent lack of diversity in the computer science major as well as classes to address these non-technical issues. I think that if enough people brought this issue to light in UT alone, there could be changes to accommodate more people and be more culturally competent.

  • What was your experience of exceptions, consts, algorithms, and iterators? (this question will vary, week to week)

With exceptions and constants, I had a pretty good handle on what was covered during class. Although there were many parts to exceptions and constants, I felt that the way the professor broke down the concepts was done well. For iterators, I did struggle a little bit on what was covered during class but after looking back at the notes I was able to catch up after class and get a better grip on it.

  • What made you happy this week?

I felt pretty happy after completing the projects since they took a long time to finish so it was relieving to finally finish. This weekend, I had a lot of free time which I hadn’t had in a while so it made me pretty happy that I could just relax for the day.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

For my pick-of-the-week, I picked the announcement of Windows 11 this week. During the reveal, they announced new features that would be coming to Windows 11 such as integrating Android apps in Windows. Also, I particularly liked the flexibility that Windows now has when working with multiple windows which I could get used to since I work with multiple windows open all the time. Overall, the layout is much cleaner and simple which is also a plus.

--

--